Locking Includes
Before editing an include, you should lock the include. Locking prevents the include from being edited by other users in parallel. The include lock can be released manually. It is released automatically after the configured lock interval has expired. For details about how to configure the include lock interval, see Defining Content Lock Period.
Basically, there are two ways to lock includes: either directly from the include list, or via the include detail view.