Locking Components
Before editing a component, you should lock the component. Locking prevents the component from being edited by other users in parallel. The component lock can be released manually. It is released automatically after the configured lock interval has expired. For details about how to configure the component lock interval, see Defining Content Lock Period.
Basically, there are two ways to lock components: either directly from the component list, or via the component detail view.